The winners of the 12th Junior Dublin Literary Awards for
Thailand English Essay Writing Competition under the title
“A Journey"
were announced at an award ceremony held on March 10, 2017
at Rembrandt Room III, 2nd floor, Rembrandt Hotel.
The overall winner of the 2016 Junior Dublin Literary Awards for Thailand

Ms. Kathrin Khanchanok Kemmler

from Lanna International School

VDO Highlight

S.P. Somtow's five recommended Irish literature titles

1. Waiting for Godot

Waiting for Godot is a play by Samuel Beckett, in which two characters, Vladimir and Estragon, wait for the arrival of someone named Godot who never arrives, and while waiting they engage in a variety of discussions and encounter three other characters. Waiting for Godot is Beckett's translation of his own original French version, En attendant Godot. The premiere was on 5 January 1953 in the Théâtre de Babylone, Paris. The English language version was premiered in London in 1955. In a poll conducted by the British Royal National Theatre in 1990 it was voted the “most significant English language play of the 20th century”.

2. Finnegans Wake

Finnegans Wake is a work of comic fiction by Irish writer James Joyce. It is significant for its experimental style and reputation as one of the most difficult works of fiction in the English language. Written in Paris over a period of seventeen years, and published in 1939, two years before the author's death, Finnegans Wake was Joyce's final work. The entire book is written in a largely idiosyncratic language, consisting of a mixture of standard English lexical items and neologistic multilingual puns and portmanteau words, which many critics believe were attempts to recreate the experience of sleep and dreams.

3. Back to Methuselah

Back to Methuselah by George Bernard Shaw consists of a preface (An Infidel Half Century) and a series of five plays: In the Beginning: B.C. 4004 (In the Garden of Eden), The Gospel of the Brothers Barnabas: Present Day, The Thing Happens: A.D. 2170, Tragedy of an Elderly Gentleman: A.D. 3000, and As Far as Thought Can Reach: A.D. 31,920. The plays is described as "a masterpiece of wishful thinking" and calls them science fiction. Shaw uses science fictioneering in Methuselah to add plausibility to scenarios and to keep readers entertained while he propounds his vision of the human destiny.

4. The Portrait of Mr. W. H.

The Portrait of Mr. W. H. is a short story written by Oscar Wilde who was an Irish playwright, poet and author of numerous short stories and one novel. Known for his biting wit, and a plentitude of aphorisms, he became one of the most successful playwrights of the late Victorian era in London, and one of the greatest celebrities of his day. The book was first published in Blackwood's Magazine in 1889. The story is about an attempt to uncover the identity of Mr. W. H., the enigmatic dedicatee of Shakespeare's Sonnets. It is based on a theory, originated by Thomas Tyrwhitt, that the sonnets were addressed to one Willie Hughes, portrayed in the story as a boy actor who specialized in playing women in Shakespeare's company.

5. The School for Scandal

The School for Scandal is a play written by Richard Brinsley Sheridan. It was first performed in London at Drury Lane Theatre on 8 May 1777. The School for Scandal has been widely admired. It is also called the play "perhaps the best existing English comedy of intrigue". On the other hand, the play has also in modern times been criticised for some hints of anti-Semitism, specifically "the disparaging remarks made about moneylenders, who were often Jewish."